Friday, March 04, 2011

Pritzker Prize 2011 Poll

On the right side of this blog (and mirrored at the bottom of this post) I've inserted a poll for the 2011 Pritzker Architecture Prize, which should be awarded around the end of March (I'll leave the poll up as long as possible, yet as of writing this I don't the exact date of the award). Based on my own picks, past polls, and gossip at places like Archinect I've narrowed down the poll to twelve choices (plus "other"), in alphabetical order:
- Shigeru Ban
- Santiago Calatrava
- David Chipperfield
- Charles Correa
- Elizabeth Diller and Ricardo Scofidio
- Peter Eisenman
- Steven Holl
- Bjarke Ingels
- Toyo Ito
- Eduardo Souto de Moura
- Ben Van Berkel
- Tod Williams and Billie Tsien
For reference, this year's jury is made up of:
- Lord Peter Palumbo (Chair)
- Alejandro Aravena
- Carlos Jimenez
- Glenn Murcutt
- Juhani Pallasmaa
- Renzo Piano
- Karen Stein
- Martha Thorne (Executive Director)
And here is the list of past winners:
1979 - Philip Johnson of the United States
1980 - Luis Barragán of Mexico
1981 - James Stirling of Great Britain
1982 - Kevin Roche of the United States
1983 - Ieoh Ming Pei of the United States
1984 - Richard Meier of the United States
1985 - Hans Hollein of Austria
1986 - Gottfried Boehm of Germany
1987 - Kenzo Tange of Japan
1988 - Gordon Bunshaft of the United States / Oscar Niemeyer of Brazil
1989 - Frank O. Gehry of the United States
1990 - Aldo Rossi of Italy
1991 - Robert Venturi of the United States
1992 - Alvaro Siza of Portugal
1993 - Fumihiko Maki of Japan
1994 - Christian de Portzamparc of France
1995 - Tadao Ando of Japan
1996 - Rafael Moneo of Spain
1997 - Sverre Fehn of Norway
1998 - Renzo Piano of Italy
1999 - Sir Norman Foster of the United Kingdom
2000 - Rem Koolhaas of The Netherlands
2001 - Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron of Switzerland
2002 - Glenn Murcutt of Australia
2003 - Jørn Utzon of Denmark
2004 - Zaha Hadid of the United Kingdom
2005 - Thom Mayne of the United States
2006 - Paulo Mendes da Rocha of Brazil
2007 - Richard Rogers of the United Kingdom
2008 - Jean Nouvel of France
2009 - Peter Zumthor of Switzerland
2010 - Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa of Japan
So VOTE and check back here when the Pritzer Prize is announced to see if the readers of this blog successfully chose this year's winner. If your vote is "other," feel free to add who as a comment below.