Thursday, March 07, 2013

Pritzker Prize Poll 2013

The Pritzker Architecture Prize website is indicating that the announcement of the 2013 recipient will happen on Sunday, March 17.


So with 10 days until the announcement, who do you think should win the Pritzker? I've set up a poll in the left column (mirrored at the bottom of this post) to see how well this blog's readers know their stuff. I've narrowed it down to 15 candidates, but if you disagree with my choices vote "other" and please comment on this post with your pick; last year's winner has shown that the prize doesn't always go to the usual names. Check back here on the 17th to see who won—both the real Pritzker and this poll.

For reference, the Pritzker Prize jury is made up of:
- Lord Peter Palumbo (Chair)
- Alejandro Aravena
- Stephen Breyer
- Yung Ho Chang
- Glenn Murcutt
- Juhani Pallasmaa
- Martha Thorne (Executive Director)
And here is the list of past winners:
1979 - Philip Johnson of the United States
1980 - Luis Barragán of Mexico
1981 - James Stirling of Great Britain
1982 - Kevin Roche of the United States
1983 - Ieoh Ming Pei of the United States
1984 - Richard Meier of the United States
1985 - Hans Hollein of Austria
1986 - Gottfried Boehm of Germany
1987 - Kenzo Tange of Japan
1988 - Gordon Bunshaft of the United States / Oscar Niemeyer of Brazil
1989 - Frank O. Gehry of the United States
1990 - Aldo Rossi of Italy
1991 - Robert Venturi of the United States
1992 - Alvaro Siza of Portugal
1993 - Fumihiko Maki of Japan
1994 - Christian de Portzamparc of France
1995 - Tadao Ando of Japan
1996 - Rafael Moneo of Spain
1997 - Sverre Fehn of Norway
1998 - Renzo Piano of Italy
1999 - Sir Norman Foster of the United Kingdom
2000 - Rem Koolhaas of The Netherlands
2001 - Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron of Switzerland
2002 - Glenn Murcutt of Australia
2003 - Jørn Utzon of Denmark
2004 - Zaha Hadid of the United Kingdom
2005 - Thom Mayne of the United States
2006 - Paulo Mendes da Rocha of Brazil
2007 - Richard Rogers of the United Kingdom
2008 - Jean Nouvel of France
2009 - Peter Zumthor of Switzerland
2010 - Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa of Japan
2011 - Eduardo Souto de Moura
2012 - Wang Shu
The Pritzker Prize Poll 2013:
Update 03.13: A few "other" votes include:
- Peter Rich (ZA)
- Cesar Pelli (US)
- Giancarlo Mazzanti (CO)
- Alberto Campo Baeza (ES)
- Manuel and Francisco Aires Mateus (PT)
- Bijoy Jain (IN)
(The last four are culled from Critic Under the Influence's post on "Handicapping the Pritzker Prize.")