Monday, August 03, 2015

AIA Chicago's Lifetime Achievement Awards

Today AIA Chicago announced that Richard H. Driehaus is the recipient of the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award. While I'm not too excited about one of the driving forces of neoclassical architecture getting an award from an AIA chapter in one of the most modern American cities (where Driehaus and his foundation resides), the award made me curious about the previous recipients. How does he compare to others? Although I immediately recall that Stanley Tigerman and John Vinci recently receiving the honor, it's surprising just how difficult it is to find a list of AIA Chicago's Lifetime Achievement Awards, which started in 2006. Basically AIA Chicago doesn't have one. So I did a little digging and put the list of winners from this and past years below (hopefully I got them all correct). Videos about the winners are supplied when available.

2015: Richard H. Driehaus

2014: John Vinci

2013: Stanley Tigerman

2012: Helmut Jahn

2011: Ben Weese

2010: Natalie de Blois

2009: Daniel Burnham and Edward Bennett (jointly and posthumously on the 100th anniversary of their Plan of Chicago)

2008: Gertude Lempp Kerbis

2007: John A. Holabird Jr.

2006: Walter Netsch