2016 Pritzker Prize Poll

The Pritzker Architecture Prize website indicates that the announcement of the 2016 recipient will happen on Wednesday, January 13 at 10am EST, much earlier than normal.

So with just over a month until the announcement, who do you think should win the Pritzker? I've set up a poll in the right column (mirrored at the bottom of this post) to see how well this blog's readers know their stuff. I've expanded the list over previous years, so now it's packed with 30 names, but it allows multiple votes, so you don't have to just pick one – you can pick your top 5 choices, for example. If you disagree with my choices vote "other" and please comment on this post with your pick. Check back here on January 13th to see who won – both the real Pritzker and this poll.

For reference, the Pritzker Prize jury is made up of:
- Lord Peter Palumbo (Chair)
- Stephen Breyer
- Yung Ho Chang
- Kristin Feireiss
- Glenn Murcutt
- Richard Rogers
- Benedetta Tagliabue
- Ratan N. Tata
- Martha Thorne (Executive Director)
And here is the list of past winners:
1979 - Philip Johnson (US)
1980 - Luis Barragán (MX)
1981 - James Stirling (UK)
1982 - Kevin Roche (US)
1983 - Ieoh Ming Pei (US)
1984 - Richard Meier (US)
1985 - Hans Hollein (AT)
1986 - Gottfried Boehm (DE)
1987 - Kenzo Tange (JP)
1988 - Gordon Bunshaft (US) / Oscar Niemeyer (BR)
1989 - Frank O. Gehry (US)
1990 - Aldo Rossi (IT)
1991 - Robert Venturi (US)
1992 - Alvaro Siza (PT)
1993 - Fumihiko Maki (JP)
1994 - Christian de Portzamparc (FR)
1995 - Tadao Ando (JP)
1996 - Rafael Moneo (ES)
1997 - Sverre Fehn (NO)
1998 - Renzo Piano of (IT)
1999 - Sir Norman Foster (UK)
2000 - Rem Koolhaas (NL)
2001 - Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron (CH)
2002 - Glenn Murcutt (AU)
2003 - Jørn Utzon (DN)
2004 - Zaha Hadid (UK)
2005 - Thom Mayne (US)
2006 - Paulo Mendes da Rocha (BR)
2007 - Richard Rogers (UK)
2008 - Jean Nouvel (FR)
2009 - Peter Zumthor (CH)
2010 - Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa (JP)
2011 - Eduardo Souto de Moura (PT)
2012 - Wang Shu (CN)
2013 - Toyo Ito (JP)
2014 - Shigeru Ban (JP)
2015 - Frei Otto (DE)
So, who will win the 2016 Pritzker Architecture Prize?


  1. John,
    As I get older this whole thing has become more and more ridiculous. It's all completely media driven. That is to say one's chances of becoming a pritzker recipient are way more contingent on a good PR team than any real contribution to the field. I don't know man.......

    1. I'm not sure I agree with that – Bjarke Ingels would probably have won already! I'm more confused by the definition of the Pritzker itself – Does it recognize the promising work of a relatively young architect (10-20 years in practice) and enable them further in their career? Or does it acknowledge an architect's lifetime achievements? Frei Otto certainly fell into the latter, but it's been a while since the former predominated. Instead it rewards architects who are somewhere in between – pretty far along and well established, and therefore not in need of the prize for benefiting their career outside of legacy. Needless to say, I prefer the prize going to younger architects and involving some prognostication on their future contributions.


Post a Comment

Comments are moderated for spam.