2018 Pritzker Prize Poll

[Note: Due to a deadline, this blog is taking a break until the Pritzker announcement on March 7.]

The Pritzker Architecture Prize website is indicating that the announcement of the 2018 laureate will happen on Wednesday, March 7 — 10am EST to be precise.

So with just twelve days until the announcement, who do you think should win the Pritzker? As in previous years — well, every other year, about — I've set up a poll in the right column (mirrored at the bottom of this post) to see how well this blog's readers know their stuff. I've selected 25 candidates, but if you disagree with my choices vote "other" and please comment on this post with your pick. Check back here on March 7 to see who won – both the real Pritzker and this poll.

For reference, the nine-member Pritzker Prize jury (now with four former Pritzker laureates*):
- Glenn Murcutt* (Chair)
- Stephen Breyer
- André Corrêa do Lago
- Lord Peter Palumbo
- Richard Rogers*
- Kazuyo Sejima*
- Wang Shu*
- Benedetta Tagliabue
- Ratan N. Tata
- Martha Thorne (Executive Director, not a jury member)
And here is the list of past winners:
1979 - Philip Johnson of the United States
1980 - Luis Barragán of Mexico
1981 - James Stirling of Great Britain
1982 - Kevin Roche of the United States
1983 - Ieoh Ming Pei of the United States
1984 - Richard Meier of the United States
1985 - Hans Hollein of Austria
1986 - Gottfried Boehm of Germany
1987 - Kenzo Tange of Japan
1988 - Gordon Bunshaft of the United States / Oscar Niemeyer of Brazil
1989 - Frank O. Gehry of the United States
1990 - Aldo Rossi of Italy
1991 - Robert Venturi of the United States
1992 - Alvaro Siza of Portugal
1993 - Fumihiko Maki of Japan
1994 - Christian de Portzamparc of France
1995 - Tadao Ando of Japan
1996 - Rafael Moneo of Spain
1997 - Sverre Fehn of Norway
1998 - Renzo Piano of Italy
1999 - Sir Norman Foster of the United Kingdom
2000 - Rem Koolhaas of The Netherlands
2001 - Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron of Switzerland
2002 - Glenn Murcutt of Australia
2003 - Jørn Utzon of Denmark
2004 - Zaha Hadid of the United Kingdom
2005 - Thom Mayne of the United States
2006 - Paulo Mendes da Rocha of Brazil
2007 - Richard Rogers of the United Kingdom
2008 - Jean Nouvel of France
2009 - Peter Zumthor of Switzerland
2010 - Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa of Japan
2011 - Eduardo Souto de Moura of Portugal
2012 - Wang Shu of China
2013 - Toyo Ito of Japan
2014 - Shigeru Ban of Japan
2015 - Frei Otto of Germany
2016 - Alejandro Aravena of Chile
2017 - Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem & Ramon Vilalta (RCR Arquitectes) of Spain
So, who will win the 2018 Pritzker Architecture Prize?


Post a Comment

Comments are moderated for spam.